Meeting Lily Tomlin

My best friend, since 8 years old, was Mike Fitchett (RIP). He loved movies and movie stars. And, he collected autographs. When were teenagers he would contact the theater where some movie star he loved was doing a play or a show and tell them that he was from the school newspaper and he wanted to do an interview. He was lying, just to get the autograph.

In the early ’70, Lily Tomlin was doing her One-Woman show at Painter’s Mill Theater in Baltimore. Mike got us on the Guest List for the show and managed to line up our “interview”. (He really did interview the people he set these up with)

We sat and talked to Lily for a good while. At one point she twirled my, newly longish, hair with her fingers and said it reminded her of her brother’s hair. It was so cool, meeting her. She was nice, she was funny, she posed for these photos. Mike was the funniest person I ever knew so they just hit it off, through humor, and we all just laughed a lot.

20 years later, when she was doing a show in Austin, Mike (yeah, we moved down here together) arranged to have her sign the photos I had taken as kids, in Baltimore.

Lily Tomlon Autograph 1Lily Tomlon Autograph 2

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment