My James Caan Moment…”Can I Bum A Smoke?”

I was in L.A. with my friend, Rich DeMarco for the opening of a magazine that was produced in Austin. We were staying in the Bel Age Hotel on San Vicente Blvd, right by the Viper Room and the Whiskey a Go Go clubs. During that 2 day stay I met Don Novello (Father Guido Sarducci), Gilbert Gottfried and Sinbad on different elevator trips. I the lobby I saw Evander Hollyfield (Yeah, I looked at his ear and saw the bite Mike Tyson had, recently,  taken out of it!) On the street, I saw Fabio at a cafe and Peter O’Toole, right in front of me, in a Sushi Bar window. Rich and I went to Spago for dinner, as a splurge and because we were dressed up for the magazine opening. Why not! Sitting near the door, we saw Kenny G and, later, Sugar Ray Leonard come in for dinner.

I used to buy imported cigarettes, when on an out-of-town trip, even though I wasn’t really a smoker. I had bought some Dunhill cigarettes. As we were leaving the restaurant, Rich was in front of me. Once we were outside he says “Hey Man, can I bum one of your smokes?” There was a man right in front of Rich, who turned out to be James Caan. He turned around and said “Sure.” Rich said “Sorry, I was asking for one of his Dunhills, pointing to me. James Caan says “Oooh…Dunhills, huh?…Fancy!” I asked him if he wanted one, he said “Absolutely!” and lit all 3 of our cigarettes and asked “What are you guys doin’ tonight?” We just said we were just having dinner and walking the Strip. He shook our hands and said “Have a good stroll!”.

It was a really cool moment. Neither of us had to say how much we loved the Godfather. (Mind you , Rich, is Italian and from Jersey, so, this was a big event for him) Just a bump in the road.

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment