A Beach Boys Show: A Lifelong Dream Come True

BBS Poster 1017

I have always wanted to do a Beach Boys show. I went to See Brain Wilson with my son, Graham and on the way home I said “I wanna do a Beach Boys show!” (I had already been doing the Bee Gees Songbook show for 2 years). Graham said “I wanna be Carol Kaye!”. If you don’t know who she is, look her up.

I was at the annual Gram Parsons Birthday Hoot, held at Threadgills every year, and I ran into Lorrie Singer and Bradley Kopp, friends I have known for years, who are both great musicians. I mentioned the idea to them and they were both very game to do it. Out in the bushes, I ran into Nick Randolph, a great singer/guitarist, who I had followed in his band, Stonehoney. They sang 4 part harmonies, like the eagles, stellar vocals. I mentioned it to him. He already does an amazing Beatles show, the best I have ever seen, really.

The band started to form and the idea was gaining momentum. One of my good friends, is a multi-instrumentalist and a great singer. Jeff Tveraas played lead guitar and sang in our Badfinger tribute show. He plays keyboards and sings in our Bee Gees show…yeah….one of THOSE guys…..plays anything, know all the songs, already.

I needed a keyboard player but not a piano/organ player, someone who had synth sounds because of Good Vibrations and Brian Wilson’s penchant for Marimba and Glockenspiel  and other unique sounds. I thought of Claude McCan, who I had played with in my our old reggae band from the 80’s, PRESSURE. He has a great synth collection but I was nervous calling him because he, normally, play hipper music than the Beach Boy…but…..I also knew he played in The Bowie Project. When I called he just said “Sure, it’s how older us guys make money!”. I hadn’t thought of it until that point, but, I got to a place in my life where, rather than trying to be noticed or discovered, I just wanted to play for a lot of people that were having fun, singing and dancing, y’know? FUN!! Anyway, I had my band.

We rehearsed vocal for months before playing as a band. This was hard stuff. Well, when we picked up the instruments…it was hard, too! Hmmmm, Brian Wilson really IS a genius.

The first night was nervous but good. The second time we played, we hit it out of the park. It started to feel like fun instead of trying to remember what comes next. I could not be more proud of this band. My son….it has always been a dream to play in a band with my son. He is quiet, doesn’t say much at practice…doesn’t make mistakes either. How cool.

PS Lorrie Singer is a gas!  Playing percussion. I love it and it’s a side of her I really never saw.

Beach 1Beach Boys 5Beach Boys Songbook 3Beach Graham

Sadly, my beloved son, Graham Cartet (TROFY) passed away October 10, 2022. I love you, forever

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment