The “Donkey” in the Room…When I Played George W. Bush’s Governor Inaugural in Austin, TX….and my opinion of W.

Image: Michelle Obama, George W. BushMy mentor and dear friend, Michael Ballew, called and said “Hey, I got a gig for you”. At the time, I was his bass player.

Me…”Where?”

Ballew…”George Bush’s inaugural at the Erwin Center”.

Me…”Oh”…..”OK”

Well, I am a lifelong Democrat but I wouldn’t turn down that gig just because I didn’t vote for him. When I met him, in the hallway, he seemed perfectly nice. I met ONE other Democrat when I was there. We bonded over conversation.

None of that talk was hateful and to this day, I don’t really dislike Bush. I didn’t really like a lot of what his administration stood for and I STILL think Cheney is Satan but I always ‘felt” that George Bush was a good-hearted person. Even at the height of my disdain for his policies I never hated him. It’s heartbreaking to see the hostility in politics today.

 

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment