Rick Derringer…New Years Eve-Austin Opry House

Rick Derringer

One year in the early ’80’s I was playing with the Lotions at the Austin Opry house. First off, I was thrilled because I was in a major, popular band for the first time in my life!

I was also thrilled because the bill was Johnny Dee and the Rocket 88’s, a GREAT 50’s and 60’s cover band ( Austin’s Sha Na Na ), The Lotions and Stevie Ray Vaughan. I loved those 2 bands.

It turned out that Rick Derringer was there. He sang HANG ON SLOOPY with the McCoys when he was only 17 and he wrote the hit, ROCK AND ROLL HOOTCHIE COO which he had out with his band and, again, later with Edgar Winter.

That was the good news…the BAD news was that he only wanted to play my “prize” rare Gibson ES-340. a guitar that I wish, to this day, that I had never gotten rid of. I ended up playing David Roach’s Strat for the Lotions set. I gotta admit, tho…..my ES-340 sounded amazing in Rick Derringer’s hands!

21270786_10155127503678795_1659158060191566885_n

Well, it was as stellar night. The highlight, for me, was Rick and Stevie Ray just playing the hell out of their guitars. WOW!!

COmment from my bass player Moe Monserrat. “When I saw Derringer standing on the stage I asked Sebastian, our road manager,  “Who is that? Why does he have a guitar on? Finally I told him to throw the guy off the stage. He leaves to do that and comes back telling me “ He’s Rick Derringer and he wants to sit in.” I said “Tell him to wait his turn to take a solo.” Which he did.”

Austin music life has given me such a treasure trove on memories. Many of them right here…in my blog!

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

One thought on “Rick Derringer…New Years Eve-Austin Opry House”

  1. When I saw Derringer standing on the stage I asked Sebastian “Who is that? Why does he have a guitar on? Finally I told him to throw the guy off the stage. He leaves to do that and comes back telling me “ He’s Rick Derringer and he wants to sit in.” I said “Tell him to wait his turn to take a solo.” Which he did.

    Like

Leave a comment