A Brief Meet With One of the Most Amazing People on Earth…Temple Grandin

.jpg

My wife, Mary, was a stand-in for Julia Ormond during the filming of the HBO film, Temple Grandin. Mary resembles her and also looks a bit like Juliette Binoche.

Temple Grandin is a brilliant woman on the Autism Spectrum. She designed kinder ways to treat cows and reduce their stress before slaughter. One of the tools she invented, the Hug Box, has even been used to calm people with Autism. She is an American professor of animal science and a consultant to the livestock industry.

She was named in the “Heroes” category for 2010 TIME 100, an annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world.

We went to the premier and it was a wonderful, and hit turns out Emmy and Golden Globe winning, film starring Claire Danes. It was a really special night.

In the film it was made clear that Temple wasn’t comfortable being touched or hugged by people, so, when I got the chance to meet her I asked “How’s the hugging thing going?” because I knew she was famous and a lot of people love her.

She just smiled and said “I’ve gotten used to it.”

Man, what an amazing human being. If you don’t know about her…read up.

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment