Courtney, Robert Palmer and The New Music Seminar, NYC 1983

Court (3)

My best friend, Courney Audian were in a Reggae band called PRESSURE in the 80’s. We were chosen, by the band, to go to The New Music Seminar in NYC in 1983. We had dozens of cassette copies of our EP, T-shirts and photos.

Countney and I had a ball. That is where I met Billy Barty and got a kiss from Mary Travers.

One night we went to this amazing club that was a converted old church. I loved it. The door man wan rolling joints and smoking right there in from of GOD and everybody….ahh NEW YORK!

At some point we went to the loo and noticed Boy George going up the stairs into a smaller VIP club. We tried to go in but were stopped and turned away at the door.

Right at that very moment Robert Palmer grabbed Courtney and said “Heeeeyyyy man!!” and started talking to him as if he knew him. Courtney, wisely, did not tell Robert that he was mistaken. Mr. Palmer just waltzed Courtney thru the VIP door, with me right behind…”I’m with THEM!”  We had a great evening in the VIP room. Thank you, Robert Palmer!!

Robt

That was also the trip where a racist cab driver kicked us out of his cab for being black. Me, Courtney and RANKIN’ ROGER from English Beat…..that guy was a jerk.Roger

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

3 thoughts on “Courtney, Robert Palmer and The New Music Seminar, NYC 1983”

Leave a comment