Standing on the Corner When Jimmy Carter Criused By….

Limo (1)

I was standing on the corner of Charles Street and Monument Street. Mt. Vernon Place, where the Baltimore version of the Washington Monument lives…..much smaller and looks nothing like the one in D.C.

My apartment was right there, next to Peabody Conservatory of Music.

I was on my way to work and there were a few people on the corner so I poked my way to the curb and, lo and behold, a limo makes the right hand turn and there, in the window is Jimmy Carter, waving at me.

I waved back…

Later that same year I took my girlfriend’s parents out to eat at Chiapparelli’s Italian Restaurant in Baltimore’s Little Italy. There was along, slow line down the block.

I had rib cage length long hair and looked every bit the poor hippie. As we got close to the door the hostess, who knew me well because we ate there ALL THE TIME, waved and yelled. “C’mon Hon! I got yer table!” And swept us past the crowd and into the front door.

What I didn’t know was that Jimmy Carter had reserved the whole top floor and it was going to be tough getting in any time soon.

That sweet woman must have seen me with GF and her elder parents and wanted to help me make a good impression. It was so nice. I’ll never forget it! Chiapparellis

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment