My Run-Ins With Mary, Queen of Scots

I never really intended to know anything much about Mary, Queen of Scots…but she kept popping up in my travels to Europe, so….here we go!scots2

Mary, we know her as “Queen of Scots” but that was the second time she was crowned Queen. Mary left her home in Scotland and moved to France at age 5.

She was crowned Queen of France at age 16, in 1558, to Francis II (age 14). She spent most of her young years living at Amboise castle. Her mother-in-law was Cathrine de Medici, wife of Henri II.

Tomb of Catherine de Medici and Henry II is St. Denis, Paris. Lookin’ good!!scots77

Amboise Castle….beautiful! (My kids, Mina and Graham-bottom right)scots11

Leonardo da Vinci is buried at Amboise. They never met, Mary was born after he died. scots999

She returned to Scotland in 1561 and lived in Leith. Leith is beautiful! Been there, too!Scotsl

Mary was crowned Queen of Scotland, here, at Stirling Castle in 1593. Stirling is also famous for the battle at Stirling Bridge (William Wallace) and Bannockburn battle where Robert the Bruce defeated Henry II of England.scots6

Mary had a Queen’s Chamber in Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh.scots12

Mary gave birth to the future king, James VI in Edinburgh Castlescots4

The Sheep Heid Inn, a restaurant/Bowling Alley…It has been open since 1360! The oldest pub in Scotland. We had a great dinner here. Scots

This is where Mary, Queen of Scots played skittles, now called bowling! Scots1Scots3

Mary kept her hounds, here, at Doune castle. If you recognize it, it is because it’s was used for all of the castle scenes in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. The interior was used for Winterfel, Game of Thrones and for Outlander Netflix series. scots7

Mary claimed the throne of England but Elizabeth wasn’t having it so…..OFF WITH HER HEAD!!

Last stop for Mary in, here, in Westminster Abbey, right across the hall for her cousin, Elizabeth I. They put Mary’s head back on for the tomb effigy. scots8

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

Leave a comment