Places I Have Been

Billy the Kid’s grave

Gettysburg

The Catacombs in Paris

Le Puy en Velay lava spire with a church, Saint-Michel d’Aiguilhe, from the 900’s built on top

I played on stage at The Grand Ole Opry-Nashville

Mammertine Prison, last place St. Peter and St. Paul ever were before they were executed.

Mount Vernon and George Washington’s grave.

Rennes le Chateau, where Mary Magdalene is rumored to be buried and where the legend of the Da Vinci Code was born.

Shskespeare’s grave

Niagra Falls

Pompeii

Napoleon’s tomb, Paris

I had dinner in the restaurant where Van Gogh painted “Cafe at Night” in Arles, France.

Muir Woods

Kingston, Jamaica. We played in Bob Marley Stadium

Chichen Itza

Ephesus, Turkey… In the Roman theatre where St. Paul read The Letter to the Ephesians from the Bible

Bonnie and Clyde’s graves

Medieval York, U.K., Where Constantine was crowned Holy Roman Emperor, in 306 AD

Central Park and Times Square

Abbey Road-London

Segovia, Spain

The Alamo

Chateau Chillon, in Lake Geneva, where Lord Byron carved his names on a column where Francois Bonivard was chained. After he wrote “The Prisoner of Chillon”, a famous poem.

Culloden battlefield and Loch Ness, Scotland

Willie Nelson’s Western town, Luck, Texas

Carcassonne, the biggest castle in Europe.

Whiskey A Go Go in L.A.

Pusher Street, legal hashish market in Copenhagen.

Fontvraud Abbeye, Richard the Lionheart grave. France

Beautiful Bergen, Norway 

Doune Castle, where Monty Python and the Holy Grail was filmed. Scotland

Bruges, Belgium

Castles on the Rhine, Germany

Hadrian’s Wall-separating England and Scotland

Altun Ha, Mayan ruins, Belize

The Atlantic and Pacific oceans

Burnham Market, the tiny English town where I was born in 1954.

Austin, Texas, where my childhood musical dream came true

Santa Fe. N.M.

Red Rocks Amphitheater, Colorado

Charleston Waterfront Slave Market

Cafe du Monde, New Orleans

Quebec City walls

Lauterbrunnen and Jungfrau, Switzerland

Bellagio, Italy

The Parthenon, Athens

The Pantheon, Rome

On the ferry from Dover, U.K. to Calais, France

Salzburg Castle, Austria

Fisherman’s Bastion, above the Danube, in  Budapest

The island of Menorca, off the coast of Spain

Pont du Gard, massive 2000 year old Roman aqueduct, France (3 times)

Jim Morrison’s Grave, Paris

”The Staircase” from The Exorcist, Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Leonardo da Vinci’s grave in Amboise castle. Catherine di’ Medici’s home, where Mary, Queen of Scots grew up.

Greyfriars cemetery, Edinburgh, where the little dog, “Greyfriars Bobby” spent 14 years guarding the grave of his owner until he died himself.

The cave on the Greek isle, Patmos, where St. John wrote Revelations

The pedestal where they burned Julius Caesar’s body for 6 days

Lyon, France…The food capital of the world!!

 

 

 

 

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

3 thoughts on “Places I Have Been”

  1. I would love to chat with you sometime. I moved from Austin to Bristol UK in 2011. I saw the Lotions at a Town Lake free concert (pushing too hard) possibly in 1980. My wife worked with Jan, whose husband Winston cooked Jamaican food for the Mau Mau Chaplains. uksteveandsue@gmail.com

    Like

Leave a comment