A HIT In Norway! Steinar Albrigtsen, Erik Moll and My Biggest Thrill as a Songwriter.

Steinar CD1nar CD

During the 90’s I tried my hand at songwriting. My friend Ron Hicks encouraged me to co-write. I wrote with Ron and Erik Moll as part of Sunroom Music Group, run by Linda Wier, Rusty’s ex-wife.

Erik Moll was already a well known songwriter in Norway, where he spent half his time. He was friends with an artist who was looking for material for his “Country music” themed album. Steinar Albrigtsen ended up cutting several of Erik’s song for the album, including the title track. ALONE TOO LONG. Ron Hicks had the HIT single, In Rosa’s Heart, a great song! Steinar also cut BURNIN’ MOONLIGHT and YOUR DADDY”S CADILLAC, both co-written by myself, Erik Moll and Ron Hicks.

That album went double platinum. We were beyond thrilled! Steinar sent us all PLATINUM RECORDS…How nice!

About a year later Steinar came to Austin looking for more songs, for the next Cd. The title song was Ron’s…BOUND TO WANDER, another great Ron Hicks song, one of my favorites, really.

Well, this time..I got the single with I JUST WANNA FALL IN LOVE AGAIN. Steinar kindly made sure I got the GOLD SINGLE for my wall. This was the height of my songwriting career.

About a year after that Erik invited me (bass) and Rick Poss (lead guitar) to do a tour in Norway, 10 venues including Oslo, Hamar, Gjovik and Bergen. It was just beautiful in Norway.

Every night Erik had me play I JUST WANNA FALL IN LOVE AGAIn and very night, as soon as we started they screamed for the song. They all knew it from being Steinar’s hit. For the 2 shows in Oslo, Steinar played with us. For me, it was an incredible THRILL to hear that reaction to me song.

As a side note, in the early 90’s my ex, Karen, and daughter Mina went to Switzerland for 2 weeks. One night we were in a restaurant and we learned our server was from Sweden. When I went to the bathroom Karen told the girl about my song in Norway and it turned out that the server KNEW my song. When I cam back to the table SHE SANG IT TO ME!!! She said her mother LOVED Steinar Albrigtsen and had that album and played it all the time. I couldn’t believe she knew the words and the melody, What a thrill!

On tour with ERIK MOLL in NORWAY. EMoll

I had 2 songs on this Cd, I JUST WANNA FALL IN LOVE AGAIN and SUDDEN STOP. I JUST WANNA FALL IN LOVE AGAIN became a GOLD single from this Cd. Steinar 3

I had 2 songs on this CD…BURNIN’ MOONLIGHT and YOUR DADDY”S CADILLAC, both co-written with Erik Moll and Ron HicksSteinar 1

I was THRILLED when I JUST WANNA FALL IN LOVE AGAIN came out on Steinar’s GREATEST HITS and the music book for this cd.Steinar 2

ERIK MOLLEmoll 3

 

Author: myentertaininglife-stevecarter

I am a lifelong musician, spent the majority of my career playing in Austin, Texas. I am, originally from Baltimore, Md. I am married and have 2 kids (Well, "kids", son-33 and daughter-24, from marriage 1 and 2, third time's a charm. At 63, I am still in 4 working bands. I have played with many of my idols. I have traveled, mostly, to Europe, to play. I LOVE history and am blessed to have traveled to many "dream" historical sites.

2 thoughts on “A HIT In Norway! Steinar Albrigtsen, Erik Moll and My Biggest Thrill as a Songwriter.”

Leave a comment